New Languages Added To Google Translates Neural Network

Google has added nine more languages to its neural network-powered translation service. Bahasa Indonesia, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Punjabi, Tamil and Telugu are now all covered by the network. The choice of languages shows that Google is keen to tap into the Indian internet market, where only around 20% of internet users speak English. A spokesperson from Google commented on the rollout, saying: “Neural machine translation translates full sentences at a time, instead of pieces of a sentence, using this broader context to help it figure out the most relevant translation. The result is higher-quality, more human-sounding translations.”