Twitter Backtracks On User Harassment Updates

Users will be notified when they are added to a list

Twitter has gone back on its recent announcement to launch updates to help curb online harassment. Part of the change was that users would no longer be notified if they were added to another user's 'list'. However, it was reported by TechCrunch that being added to a list could be harassment, as they are publicly available, so could be used by groups to harass the accounts on a particular list. According to the company, it was “user feedback” which initiated the backtrack, after the changes were announced in a tweet a few days ago. Twitter's Ed Ho said that it was a “misstep”, and thanked people for the feedback. 

Individual Basic

Free
 
  • 1 Knowledgebase
Subscribe free

Individual Premium

£15 Per month
Cancel anytime
  • Unlimited
    Plus 50.00% off International Search Summit ticket
Subscribe

Team global

£95 Per month
Up to 7 users, - additional users £10 per month - cancel anytime
  • Unlimited
    Plus 2 tickets for International Search Summit
Subscribe